HCA Board reacclaims Councillor Brad Clark as Chair

Councillor Brad Clark was reacclaimed the new Chair of the Hamilton Conservation Authority Board of Directors during its annual general meeting on February 1. Susan Fielding was reacclaimed as Vice Chair.

The 11-member HCA Board is composed of representatives appointed by the municipalities within the Hamilton Conservation Authority (HCA) watershed, which has ten members from the City of Hamilton, seven elected officials and three citizen appointments, and one member from the Township of Puslinch.

Clark thanked the Board of Directors after he was elected Chair, a position he has held since August 2023. Councillor Clark has served on the HCA’s Board of Directors from 2007 – 2014 and again from 2019 to the present. He has also served on Hamilton City Council for 16 years and is the current Ward 9 Councillor. He was also elected MPP for the Stoney Creek riding from 1999 to 2003, during which time he was appointed Ontario’s Minister of Transportation and Minister of Labour.

Susan Fielding, a citizen member of the Board of Directors, was reacclaimed Vice-Chair, a position she previously held in 2018. Fielding has been a member of the Board of Directors since 2016. She served as a member of the Conservation Advisory Board from 2016 – 2019. The Vice-Chair serves as the Chair of the Budget & Administration Committee.

Along with the Chair and Vice Chair, whose positions automatically serve on the Budget & Administration Committee, Councillor Alex Wilson, Councillor Maureen Wilson, and Lisa DiCesare were confirmed as the other members.

Citizen board members Brian McHattie and Wayne Terryberry were confirmed as Conservation Advisory Board members (CAB) members. Terryberry was re-elected as Chair of the committee. Currently the Coordinator of Natural Lands & Outdoor Recreation at McMaster University, he was previously a member of CAB for two terms, from June 2015 to June 2023, and served as Vice Chair from 2019 until the end of his term in 2023.